Award and Election Announcements for Spring 2023

Feb 21, 2023

We have several exciting announcements to tell you about:

Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award Winners

The Distinguished Scientific Contribution Awardhonors scholars who have made outstanding scientific contributions to the study of discourse processing and text analysis.

This year’s selection process yielded two candidates for selection for the society’s highest honor. Congratulations to Ivar Bråten and Rolf Zwaan, who have both been independently selected as winners of the DSCA award! The DSCA committee strives choose one winner each year, but recommended that two awards be given. This is a testament to the contributions that Dr. Bråten and Dr. Zwaan have independently made to the field and our community. Dr. Zwaan will deliver his award address this summer at the conference in Oslo. Dr. Bråten, who is co-hosting in Oslo, will deliver his address next summer at the conference in Chicago. The Society will hold the next DSCA competition in 2024-2025.

Thanks to the DSCA selection committee for all their hard work: M. Anne Britt (chair), Jean-Francois Rouet, Jane Oakhill, and Richard Gerrig. 

Tom Trabasso Young Investigator Award Winner

This award goes to an outstanding young scholar who received their PhD within the last 10 years and has made a significant contribution to the understanding of discourse processing and text analysis.

Congratulations to Caitlin Mills who has been selected as the 2023 winner of the Tom Trabasso Young Investigator Award. Dr. Mills will deliver her award address next summer at the conference in Chicago. 

Thanks to the TTYI selection committee for all their hard work: Pani Kendeou (chair), M. Anne Britt, Matt McCrudden, & Laura Allen

New Governing Board Members

We are pleased to announce that Alexia Galatiand Raymond Mar will be joining the Governing Board starting this summer. We would like to thank outgoing members Jane Oakhill and Gale Sinatra for six years of outstanding service on the Board. You can see a list of current and former board members here.