Elections to the Governing Board, 2013: Governing Board nominations due 6/5

Dear ST&D Member,

Three members of the Governing Board of the Society are completing their terms this year. We express our deep appreciation to Max Louwerse, Paul van den Broek, and Jenny Wiley for their dedication and service over the past six years. The purpose of this message is to start the process for electing replacements to these positions.

Before I discuss the election process, I would like to remind you that only those members who are paid in full for 2013 are able to participate in the election or to be nominated as a candidate. If you have not paid your 2013 dues, please go the website and do so before participating in the election. Also, if your name is not on the list below, you may still be nominated as long as you are a current member before the ballot is finalized. The website is:


At the end of this message you will find (1) a list of Society members serving on the current Governing Board, and (2) a list of active members who are eligible to be nominated to serve on the Governing Board. This second list of active members is provided to help you participate in the nomination process. (Note: If you or someone you want to nominate is not on this list, now is as good a time as any to renew that membership!)

According to the Bylaws, the election of new Governing Board members proceeds in two phases. First, nominees are solicited from the members. Of these nominees, “candidates for the election will be selected by choosing those with the most nominations, who are willing to serve, up to a total of three times the number of vacancies. The Governing Board may at its discretion add up to one person for each vacancy to those nominated by the membership.” Second, “The names shall be placed on an election ballot, which shall be mailed to all members. The Hare voting system will be used with each member rank ordering the candidates” (Article 5, Section 2).

Please note that although student members cannot serve on the governing board, they are still encouraged to nominate eligible candidates for the Governing Board, and of course to vote in the election. Members can nominate themselves or any other member of the Society. The Society is interdisciplinary and international, and we should strive to have a board that reflects that diversity. Your nominations, and voting, ensure the Society maintains an active, participatory Board to support the diverse, international interests of the membership.

Please email your nominations to the Society secretary (wolfem@gvsu.edu) by Wednesday, June 5, 2013.

With three vacancies, up to nine Society members may be placed on the ballot based on member nominations. Please do not simply hit reply to submit your nominations; nominations submitted in this way will not be counted. Your participation in this process is an important part of Society membership, so be sure to submit your nominations.


Mike Wolfe (wolfem@gvsu.edu)
Secretary for the Society for Text and Discourse

(1) Current Governing Board

Ted Sanders, Utrecht U. Chair
Max Louwerse, U. of Memphis (term ending in 2013)
Paul van den Broek, Leiden University (term ending in 2013)
Jennifer Wiley, UIC (term ending in 2013)
R. Brooke Lea, Macalester
Edward O’Brien, U of New Hampshire
Jane Oakhill, U of Sussex
Panayiota Kendeou, Neaoplis U. – Pafos
Jean-Francois Rouet, U. of Poitiers
Sid Horton, Northwestern U.
Danielle McNamara, Arizona St. University
Tobias Richter, U of Kassel

(2) List of Active Members Eligible for Nomination

Please note: Students are not eligible for election to the Governing Board, and their names (to the best of our knowledge) have been removed from the list of active members presented here. If you have paid your dues and are not on this list, please contact the Secretary (wolfem@gvsu.edu).

Jan Auracher
Adrian Bangerter
Nick Benesh
Nathalie Blanc
Catherine Bohn-Gettler
Marisa Bortolussi
Josie Briscoe
D. I. Burin
Sarah Elizabeth Carlson
Mark A. Casteel
Claude Cech
Raquel Cerdan
Jazmin Cevyom
Wallace Chafe
Clark Chinn
Anne Cook
David Copeland
Roberta Corrigan
Reinier Cozijn
Srikanth Dandotkar
Clara de Avila
Jose M. Diaz
Peter Dixon
Andrew Elfenbein
Robert Englebretson
Martha W. Evens
Evelyn C. Ferstl
Carolina Figueras Bates
Jean Fox Tree
Reva Freedman
Peter H. Fries
Susan R. Fussell
Darren Gergle
Richard Gerrig
Michael Glass
Richard M. Golden
Susan R. Goldman
Isabel G—mez-Veiga
Joachim Grabowski
Arthur C. Graesser
Thomas Griffin
Amal Guha
Alexandria E. Guzman
Pascal Gygax
Laura Halderman
Priti Haria
Richard Jackson Harris
David Havas
Adelina Hild
Yukie Horiba
William S. Horton
Keisuke Inohara
Johanna Kaakinen
Eriko Kawasaki
Jung Hee Kim
Eileen Kintsch
Walter Kintsch
Nobuko Koyama
Dominique Lafontaine
William Langston
William Levine
Debra L. Long
Robert Lorch
Monica Macedo-Rouet
Bernard Maskit
Pascale Maury
Richard Mayer
Matthew McCrudden
Bonnie J. F. Meyer
Keith Millis
Yasunori Morishima
Aldo Severino Nemesio
Helga Noice
Tenaha OReilly
Chantel Prat
David Rapp
Katherine Rawson
Gisela Redeker
Tobias Richter
John Sabatini
Ted Sanders
Michael F. Schober
Andreas Schramm
Sascha Schroeder
Ben Seipel
Murray Singer
Wilbert Spooren
Marc Stadtler
Jennifer J. Stiegler-Balfour
John Surber
David Therriault
Robert E. Till
Jos van Berkum
Teun van Dijk
Carel van Wijk
Eduardo Vidal-Abarca Gamez
Paula Waddill
Michael Walrod
Charles A. Weaver
Jennifer Wiley
Howard Williams
Garry Wilson
Michael Wolfe
Meni Yeari
Iker Zulaica Hern‡ndez

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes