Call for Governing Board nominations

Two members of the Governing Board of the Society are completing their terms this year. We express our deep appreciation to Brooke Lea and Ted Sanders for their dedication and service over the past six years. The purpose of this message is to start the process for electing replacements to these positions. This year we are conducting the elections in the Fall rather than the Spring. The newly elected Governing Board members will assume their positions starting in Summer, 2014.

Before I discuss the election process, I would like to remind you that only those members who are paid in full for 2013 are able to participate in the election or to be nominated as a candidate. If you have not paid your 2013 dues, please go the website and do so before participating in the election. Also, if your name is not on the list below, you may still be nominated as long as you are a current member before the ballot is finalized. The website is:


At the end of this message you will find (1) a list of Society members serving on the current Governing Board, and (2) a list of active members who are eligible to be nominated to serve on the Governing Board. This second list of active members is provided to help you participate in the nomination process. (Note: If you or someone you want to nominate is not on this list, now is as good a time as any to renew that membership!)

According to the Bylaws, the election of new Governing Board members proceeds in two phases. First, nominees are solicited from the members. Of these nominees, “candidates for the election will be selected by choosing those with the most nominations, who are willing to serve, up to a total of three times the number of vacancies. The Governing Board may at its discretion add up to one person for each vacancy to those nominated by the membership.” Second, “The names shall be placed on an election ballot, which shall be mailed to all members. The Hare voting system will be used with each member rank ordering the candidates” (Article 5, Section 2).

Please note that although student members cannot serve on the governing board, they are still encouraged to nominate eligible candidates for the Governing Board, and to vote in the election. Members can nominate themselves or any other member of the Society. The Society is interdisciplinary and international, and we should strive to have a board that reflects that diversity. Your nominations, and voting, ensure the Society maintains an active, participatory Board to support the diverse, international interests of the membership.

Please email your nominations to the Society secretary ( by Wednesday, October 30, 2013.

With two vacancies, up to six Society members may be placed on the ballot based on member nominations. Please do not simply hit reply to submit your nominations; nominations submitted in this way will not be counted. Your participation in this process is an important part of Society membership, so be sure to submit your nominations.


Mike Wolfe (

Secretary for the Society for Text and Discourse

(1) Current Governing Board

  •  Danielle McNamara, Arizona State (Chair)
  • Catherine Bohn-Gettler, Wichita State
  • Sid Horton, Northwestern U.
  • Johanna Kaakinen, U. of Turku
  • Panayiota Kendeou, U. of Minnesota
  • R. Brooke Lea, Macalester (term ends in 2014)
  • Jane Oakhill, U of Sussex
  • Edward O’Brien, U of New Hampshire
  • David Rapp, Northwestern
  • Tobias Richter, U of Kassel
  • Jean-Francois Rouet, U. of Poitiers
  • Ted Sanders, Utrecht U. (term ends in 2014)


(2) List of Active Members Eligible for Nomination


Please note: Students are not eligible for election to the Governing Board, and their names (to the best of our knowledge) have been removed from the list of active members presented here. If you have paid your dues and are not on this list, please contact the Secretary (

  • Jan Auracher
  • Adrian Bangerter
  • Nick Benesh
  • Nathalie Blanc
  • Josie Briscoe
  • D. I. Burin
  • Sarah Elizabeth Carlson
  • Mark A. Casteel
  • Claude Cech
  • Raquel Cerdan
  • Jazmin Cevasco
  • Jazmín Cevasco
  • Wallace Chafe
  • Clark Chinn
  • Donald Compton
  • Anne Cook
  • David Copeland
  • Reinier Cozijn
  • Srikanth Dandotkar
  • Clara de Avila
  • Jose M. Diaz
  • Peter Dixon
  • Andrew Elfenbein
  • Robert Englebretson
  • Martha W. Evens
  • Evelyn C. Ferstl
  • Carolina Figueras Bates
  • Jean Fox Tree
  • Jeffrey Foy
  • Reva Freedman
  • Peter H. Fries
  • Susan R. Fussell
  • Darren Gergle
  • Morton Ann Gernsbacher
  • Richard Gerrig
  • Michael Glass
  • Richard M. Golden
  • Susan R. Goldman
  • Isabel Gómez-Veiga
  • Joachim Grabowski
  • Arthur C. Graesser
  • Thomas Griffin
  • Amal Guha
  • Alexandria E. Guzman
  • Pascal Gygax
  • Megherbi Hakima
  • Laura Halderman
  • Priti Haria
  • Richard Jackson Harris
  • David Havas
  • Adelina Hild
  • Scott Hinze
  • Yukie Horiba
  • Keisuke Inohara
  • Eriko Kawasaki
  • Jung Hee Kim
  • Eileen Kintsch
  • Nobuko Koyama
  • William Langston
  • Jose Leon
  • William Levine
  • Debra L. Long
  • Robert Lorch
  • Max Louwerse
  • Joseph P. Magliano
  • Bernard Maskit
  • Pascale Maury
  • Richard Mayer
  • Matthew McCrudden
  • Mike Mensink
  • Bonnie J. F. Meyer
  • Keith Millis
  • Yasunori Morishima
  • Aldo Severino Nemesio
  • Junko Nishigaki
  • Helga Noice
  • Tenaha OReilly
  • Chantel Prat
  • Katherine Rawson
  • Gisela Redeker
  • Vasile Rus
  • John Sabatini
  • Michael F. Schober
  • Andreas Schramm
  • Sascha Schroeder
  • Ben Seipel
  • Murray Singer
  • Wilbert Spooren
  • Marc Stadtler
  • Jennifer J. Stiegler-Balfour
  • John Surber
  • David Therriault
  • Pamela Tidwell
  • Robert E. Till
  • Jos van Berkum
  • Paul van den Broek
  • Teun van Dijk
  • Carel van Wijk
  • Sashank Varma
  • Eduardo Vidal-Abarca Gamez
  • Paula Waddill
  • Michael Walrod
  • Charles A. Weaver
  • Jennifer Wiley
  • Howard Williams
  • Susan Wilson
  • Garry Wilson
  • Michael B. Wolfe
  • Meni Yeari
  • Iker Zulaica Hernández
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes