2017 ST&D Newsletter

Happy New Year from the Society for Text & Discourse!


We have several exciting events and announcements to tell you about:


Membership renewal: If you have not renewed your membership for 2017, now is the time. Membership advantages include a subscription to Discourse Processes, reduced conference registration fees, and electronic access to Policy Insights from the Behavioral and Brain Sciences. PIBBS is made available to organizational members of the Federation of Associations of Behavioral and Brain Sciences.

Renew today at https://societyfortextanddiscourse.wildapricot.org/Membership


Second Conference call for submissions: The organizers of the 2017 ST&D conference in Philadelphia, PA have put out the second call for submissions. Submissions for symposia or themed sessions are due January 16 and individual submissions are due February 17. The full second call for submissions and the submission portal can be found here:


The main conference website can be found here:


We would like to take a moment to thank the 2017 conference organizers, John Sabatini, Tenaha O’Reilly, and conference sponsor ETS. They are hard at work getting ready for the conference, and we are all looking forward to arriving in Philadelphia!


2017 Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award: Congratulations to Susan Goldman, winner of the 2017 DSCA award! Susan will deliver her award address this summer at the conference in Philadelphia. Thanks to the DSCA selection committee for all their hard work: Joe Magliano (chair), Paul van Den Broek, Edward O’Brien, Danielle McNamara, Kate Bohn-Gettler.


New Governing Board members: We are pleased to announce that Jane Oakhill and Gale Sinatra will be joining the Governing Board starting in 2017. We would like to thank outgoing member Sid Horton for six years of outstanding service on the Board.


ST&D Fellows: Congratulations to the class of 2016 ST&D Fellows, Kate Cain, Chuck Goodwin, José León, and Gale Sinatra. Thanks to the Fellows committee: Jenny Wiley (chair), Joe Magliano, Paul van den Broek, and Chantel Prat.

Nominations for Fellow status in the Society are currently being accepted, and are due to Jenny Wiley by February 17, 2017. Think about researchers you know who are suitable for Fellow status and submit a nomination or two. Information can be found at: http://www.societyfortextanddiscourse.org/about-2/fellows/fellow-nominations/


Facebook: Come visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/SocietyforTextandDiscourse?ref=hl

Leave some pictures of ST&D members, or maybe share a news article that features one of our members.


On behalf of the officers of ST&D

Danielle McNamara – President

Kate Bohn-Gettler – Treasurer

Mike Wolfe – Secretary

Mike Mensink – Conference Webmaster

and the Governing Board, we wish you a happy and productive new year!

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes