2017 DSCA winner: Susan Goldman

It is my distinct pleasure to bring you the news that Dr. Susan Goldman is the recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award. A committee of senior researchers, chaired by Dr. Joe Magliano, selected Dr. Goldman from a list of renowned nominees. This is the Society’s most prestigious award, which honors scholars who have made outstanding scientific contributions to the study of discourse processing and text analysis. Previous award winners were Walter Kintsch, Herb Clark, Art Graesser, Tony Sanford & Simon Garrod, Marcel Just, Morton Ann Gernsbacher, Charles Perfetti,  Jerome Myers & Edward J. O’Brien, and Paul van den Broek.

Awardees are recognized for their:

· outstanding research that has enhanced the scientific understanding of discourse processing and text analysis;
· contributions to the mentorship of students, postdoctoral fellows, and colleagues in the field of text and discourse;
· meritorious contributions to the advancement of the field through leadership as a theorist or spokesperson for the discipline.

The Society is very proud to have Dr. Goldman  as our DSCA winner, whom many of you may know as a key and highly influential figure in the field and a person who has made substantial contributions to the Society for Text and Discourse. The Society greatly appreciates the opportunity to present the award to Dr. Goldman at the Society’s Annual meeting in Philadelphia, July 31-August 2. The conference website, along with the call for proposals can be found at:


As the winner of the DSCA award, Dr. Goldman will provide a keynote lecture at our annual meeting. This keynote will be a highlight of the program that John Sabatini and Tenaha O’Reilly, and their colleagues are currently planning. This meeting promises to be an exciting event set in the land of liberty, independence, and revolution.

We hope you all join us in Philly! (The submission deadline is February 17, 2017).

Best wishes, on behalf of the Governing Board,

Danielle S. McNamara

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes